Reviews

[A] sly and clever thriller… this book will keep read­ers guess­ing.“
Pub­lish­ers Weekly

Lundrigan’s skill­fully bal­anced blend of psy­cho­log­i­cal thriller and haunt­ing coming-of-age story is infused with creepy, small-town atmos­pheric sus­pense.… [Her] writ­ing is both ele­gant and darkly humor­ous, deliv­er­ing bareknuckle social com­men­tary that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Karin Fos­sum, and Laura Lipp­man.”
Book­list, Starred review

A feast for fans who miss Patri­cia Highsmith’s and Mar­garet Millar’s haunt­ing anatomies of peo­ple as nice as pie except for their mur­ders.“
Kirkus Reviews

The clues are there, but they are sneaky and decep­tive, and that is the true genius of the novel’s final reveal… [The Sub­sti­tute] is a spine-chiller for read­ers who appre­ci­ate lan­guage and refined, well-crafted plots — and who aren’t afraid to delve, for a time, into the mind of a psy­chopath.“
Stacey Mad­den
Quill & Quire

… this psy­cho­log­i­cal thriller will res­onate with read­ers long after the last page is read… A cau­tion­ary tale, ‘The Sub­sti­tute’ art­fully cre­ates an unset­tling com­mu­nity made more malig­nant by an “undi­ag­nosed”… per­son, capa­ble of remain­ing hid­den for years to come.“
Janet Nicol
Maple Tree Lit­er­ary Sup­ple­ment, Issue 22

… this book will keep you guess­ing to the very end.“
Ash­ley Kowleski-Pizzi
Reader’s Digest, Best Health

Equal parts dis­turb­ing, sus­pense­ful, and raw, The Sub­sti­tute will have you hold­ing your breath until the very last page.”
Ian Hamil­ton, award-winning author of the Ava Lee series

Irre­sistibly clever! This creepy tale had me hooked right from the start.”
Melanie Raabe, author of The Trap

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Tumblr
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • Print

Comments are closed.